NaNoWriMo16: Update 04

Ahahaha… well. Less than three days left in NaNoWriMo. As of this post, I am at 32,033 words. As you can see by my graph, that’s not due to consistency, but rather I wrote a ton earlier this morning and the prior days I’ve been eeking up as much as I could get myself to write.

I’m super stubborn, so I still plan on winning this year. There’s still about 64 hours left!

If I sleep, then that’s 48 waking hours. Which is only around 375 words per hour. Yeah, totally doable. :I

The content of my novel, however, has descended into random bits and pieces, scenes of this and that. While I want to explore in-depth what I wrote earlier in the month, my inspiration was lacking in doing it on such a short timeframe and I resorted to writing about other things as well. Not too far out there though, pretty much an addition of one more world that could still tie in (if I wanted to be clever about it).

Plus, gay erotica… I don’t know why, but there’s something about writing erotica that I can just accumulate word count so damn fast. It isn’t even all smut, but if the underlying basis is an erotic situation or a sexual relationship; I can write so much faster than situations that don’t include that. Perhaps it’s because the dynamics of a sexual-based relationship are very intriguing to write into narrative prose…. I don’t know.

I’m working on getting the same kind of quick speed for violence-based relations and other kinds of human nature qualities. But for NaNoWriMo, especially since I’ve been pantsing the entire month, I’ve gone back to what’s easy and readily available for me. The last time I pantsed like this was my first NaNo and I entirely threw that novel out even though it was linear and complete. That’s the difference with this one, it’s not linear and it ain’t anywhere near being complete.

Anyways, back to it!

~Dominika

screen-shot-2016-11-28-at-8-03-40-am

One thought on “NaNoWriMo16: Update 04

  1. Wish I could get you some coffee and vittles! But you got this!! Sometimes, breaking it down into smaller pieces really helps put it in perspective! And yes, writing intimate scenes really ups the word count, I noticed that as well. Can’t say I didn’t use it to my advantage this month..!

Comment below...

