Quote Spotlight: Patricia Highsmith

While prepping for editing/rewriting Stolen Control today, I recalled what someone once said to me in the wake of reading an excerpt of an old novel that I decided to never publish.

Suggestions about what my personal style is reminiscent of, sticks with me because I do not have an objective perspective on my writing style. I can try, but the awareness between the act of writing and what readers actually see… it’s a very wide gap between the two. I’d like to think I’m getting better at connecting the two over time and being aware of them beforehand, but I’m still in an early learning stage.

Anyways, this person mentioned that they thought my style resembled Patricia Highsmith. At the time, I simply jotted it down because I had a lot going on… and today I realized I never revisited that idea and explored Patricia Highsmith’s writing like I meant to.

I also didn’t realize until today that the movie Carol is an adaptation of The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith… which makes me want to read that novel all the more! I haven’t seen the movie, but from what little I know, I bet the book is worth a read.

So, I thought it’d be fun to collect some Patricia Highsmith quotes. I can’t be certain, but perhaps Highsmith and I have a similarity in spirit or personality or something… or maybe not. Maybe it’s just a coincidence or the like. I don’t know. However, I do know that I resonate with her quotes and if my writing style is similar to her’s… well, that’s plenty alright with me.

embed-6

