The End Is Nigh – NaNo15

Day 23 of NaNoWriMo.

Current Word Count: 40,581.

For the past several days, I’ve been trying and wanting to post AFTER I finish my daily writing. And for some reason, it’s easier to blog about writing BEFORE I write anything instead of after, whether due to mental exhaustion or something else, it’s just a process thing I suppose.

Anyways, so, I managed to conquer the 15k goal and my novella manuscript is finished.

I have a few options facing me, but there’s only 7 days until the end of the month and NaNoWriMo.

While I have finished my novella at 103 pages and around 40k in words, I’m still either 10k away from the 50k goal or 35k away from my initial 75k goal.

Both amounts could be a breeze to finish or a struggle, depending on what I do and where my creative mind is at.

The hardest part of writing 35k more though is that I have to decide which manuscript I will write it on.

Since my novella’s draft is done, I do not want to add more rough word count to it unless I wanted to force 10k into it and make it a short novel.

But I don’t necessarily want to do that.

All I care about is “winning” NaNoWriMo for my top priority because regardless of what else happens, I’ll still be writing in December and January and all of 2016. I’ll still be working on the manuscripts I have and on new ones.

And truly “winning” for me would be to reach my initial goal of 75k instead of the standard 50k. However, this means that I have 34,419 words to write in the next 7 days. Doable, but will I manage to be successful? I mean it took me 23 days to write 40,581 words…

Then again, I was pulling a lot of things from scratch, then keeping to a mental plotline, and was balancing life-stuff by taking a few days off from writing entirely.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 5.54.52 PM

I wish to be successful and manage 34,419 words in 7 days… so I’m going to try and as long as I get above 50k, then technically I can be considered a NaNo “winner”.

On December 1st, my planned mode of attack is going to switch entirely into publishing my novella.

At first, I was going to try and publish it BY December 1st, but decided it is a good idea to give my brain one week away from the novella, then return to it on the first weekend of December, edit, and then publish by the second weekend of December.

There’s quite a lot of information I still have to read about Kindle publishing, guidelines, and how to format my document. I plan to post about it while going through the process, but then again, I might not. If I find the focus to write a blog post here and there though, I will.

Let’s see, what else to update on… nope, I think that’s about it!

Dominika

