Blathering – NaNo15

Day 08 of NaNoWriMo

Current Word Count: 13,425.

You know how people say, “If you want to be a writer, then write no matter what!” Well, anybody that actually writes has a fair idea about how easy that is to say and how difficult it can be to accomplish at times.

I had food poisoning a couple days ago and it was awful. I haven’t vomited like that in years. Right before it began, I had written 1836 words that day. I spent the entire night in bathroom-floor misery.

When day broke, I still did not feel well, but I sat myself down to write anyways. I ended up writing 4909 words within about three hours.

Then yesterday, when I was feeling much better, I wrote a total of 0 words.

That’s right; Zero.

It didn’t slip my mind. I didn’t ‘not have the time’. I had anything, but time. Instead, I chose to clean and rest and hydrate and look at art, watch some tv. I thought about writing, but I didn’t. I knew I was falling behind, but I believed I could bring myself back to point today.

Now, if I were writing a 50k novel, I would actually be right on schedule with my word count.

But I’m not.

I’m writing 75k words on a few of my projects. That is the challenge I chose for myself and that is what I’m sticking with. To get back on track by the end of the day, I have to write 6575 words today.

Or I could write 4538 words today and tomorrow, then return to 2500w/day on Tuesday.

And the first week of November is over. That means there are only three weeks left!!! So, I’m going to set some Week goals for myself.

For the Second Week of NaNoWriMo, I will…

  1. FINISH my novella entirely! (That’s right, the entire dang draft, COMPLETE from start to finish, ready for a happy editing friend to read)
  2. PREP my MRD novel. (can I procrastinate more on applying myself to this piece? Of course I can… until week three, at least.)

Almost all of my efforts have switched onto my novella. I’m going to abandon my BNN. It just doesn’t capture my interest beyond being a free-write exercise. I’ll still include the thousand words or so that I wrote at the start, but I believe my efforts will be more useful channeled into my novella and my other novel.

Some thoughts on my Novella…

Since it is Erotica, I will be publishing my Novella through a different pen-name, even though I’m not sure about whether the fellow writers and readers that follow me right now actually care what genre I’m writing in. It just seems like the “Thing to Do” to separate hardcore smut literature from non-smut literature audiences.

Personally, I don’t care if people know I write erotica because it is something I accomplish successfully with a style of my own. Eroticism is no secret for me as an artist because in my perception, erotic scenes encompass life and deepen the understanding of characters. I, also, enjoy writing them a great deal.

I modulate eroticism in my general works for the sole purpose of allowing a wider audience to have the opportunity to access them; so people who are not so comfortable with my bold and shameless erotica style can still read some of my stories – especially for the stories where erotic elements are meant to be hidden or have little influence on the plot itself (though where there are human-creatures, there is always aspects of eroticism because sex is human AND animal and often influential).

I do not know if I will create a separate blog to track my eroticas. I might, but whether I directly link it with this one… is a question I don’t have an answer for, yet.

Anyways, so that’ll be happening this month (rain or shine!).

Then, I will be publishing MRD before the year is out. That novel will be under this name and promoted on this blog.

I’ll be self-publishing both.

I’ve never promoted a book before though and am not sure how it goes… but there seems to be a lot of resources on WordPress and in the WordPress Community for it.

If any of my readers have advice or helpful links to suggest, I’d greatly appreciate it!

Now, off to write 4538 to 6575 words!

Yippee Ki-Yay,

Dominika

