Taking Advice, or the Difference Between Writers and Non-Writers

A great post about a writer’s experience with unsolicited advice and guidance and a reminder that “whatever it is that you decide to do, do it on your terms, do it because you want to.”

The Novice Wordsmith

Just as there are blogs and posts and pictures and near anything else dedicated to “Tips for Writing” there are as many out there about doing it wrong, what not to do, and generally what to avoid. While nothing is wrong with these, it can be if the person has had no previous experience in what they’re talking about, instead just passing the word.

The best word comes from someone who knows what it means, both through experience and observance.

I was reminded recently of a former friend who, after I had finished November last year, took to badgering me about finishing my work. On several occasions, I got messages with the caps lock on telling me to get to it already. Pushed and bullied, I felt the stress of having to complete something under someone else’s watch, but I never let him force me to do things.

One of…

View original post 757 more words

